Premiere: Jozef van Wissem shares new song 'Bow Down' & presents new album at LGW18

Premiere: Jozef van Wissem shares new song 'Bow Down' & presents new album at LGW18

Wed Sep 5th
Unable to show videos. Please click here to accept cookies and enable embedding of videos.

Enter the dark, mythical world of minimalist composer and acclaimed lute-player Jozef van Wissem. Accompanied by his baroque instrument, Van Wissem creates highly distinctive sonic soundscapes by blending avant-garde and baroque music practices. With a trailblazing approach of the lute, Van Wissem pushes his instrument out of the academy and into more adventurous terrain.

We now have the honor to premiere the first song from Jozef Van Wissem's upcoming album 'We Adore You, You Have No Name', which is set to be released November 9 via Consouling Sounds. We're also thrilled to announce Jozef van Wissem's performance at Le Guess Who? will serve as the official release show for the album. Check out his full tour dates here, and stream 'Bow Down' below.

The medieval, droning single 'Bow Down' is a drinking song. As Van Wissem writes to us over email: "The lyrics address the medieval practice of preferring to drink alcohol instead of the not so safe water. Sort of like nowadays. The song is also about the underdog, always falling down". Other inspirations for the album come from a madrigal by Arcadelt (1557), Caravaggio's painting 'The Lute Player' (1596) and a Baroque lute Sarabande by classical lute composer Ennemond Gaultier (1651). 

"All Jozef van Wissem wants to do is liberate the lute, but in his efforts to bring this forgotten instrument into the headspace of today's busy minds, he has also managed to bring the sound of the renaissance with him. He has been involved in a diverse range of projects, bringing his reinvented lute compositions into the world of high art, television documentary and even the latest video games." - Fifteen Questions 

Jozef van Wissem - We Adore You, You Have No Name:
1. How You Must Leave
2. Deliverance
3. You Know That I Love You
4. Bow Down
5. Unto Thee I Lift Up Mine Eyes
6. Beyond The Brook Of Blood The Rain Is Fire
7. When The Hour Of Salvation Comes The Heavens Are Made To Flow With Honey

Jozef van Wissem will perform at Le Guess Who? 2018 together with a.o. Art Ensemble of Chicago, Colin Stetson, Nicole Mitchell, Jerusalem In My Heart, Emel Mathlouthi, Roger Eno, Oliver Coates, Gigi Masin, Maja S. K. Ratkje, Eartheater, and many others.

Latest news

This website uses cookies. More information here.
× Accept Cookies More information